Contact Our Firm

Video Vault

Duplin County DWI Attorney

Contact our Defense Lawyer in Duplin County

Driving while impaired or intoxicated (DWI) in North Carolina is a criminal offense that can have a wide range of negative effects if not handled in the proper manner. If you are convicted of DWI, you can have your freedom taken away, your privilege to drive revoked, and your reputation severely damaged. As the driver of a motor vehicle, you have a responsibility to protect the lives around you to the best of your ability. State and federal laws treat the crime of drinking and driving as a serious offense, therefore, you will not likely be let off easily. You should consider hiring an educated Duplin County lawyer from our firm for the assistance you deserve.

How can I be charged with DWI?

You can be charged with DWI through various methods. Field sobriety tests are often the initial assessment issued by officers who suspect you of driving while impaired. You may be asked to complete a set of field sobriety tests performed on the side of the road after being pulled over. Your performance on these tests will determine whether the officer will arrest you for drinking and driving. Although various tests may be issued, they are conducted with the same purpose, which is to determine whether you exemplify signs of intoxication. Some drivers who fail these tests are not impaired, which is why is why it may be in your best interest to politely refuse such tests.

Chemical tests are the other category of tests that can be administered in North Carolina for the purpose of assessing your level of intoxication. Breathalyzer and blood tests assess your blood alcohol content (BAC) level to determine whether you are drunk driving. BAC levels of 0.08% or higher for drivers are considered against the law. The Intoxilyzer 5000 and the EC / IR II are the two breathalyzer machines which can be administered in the state of North Carolina. Blood tests can also be given to assess the driver's BAC level. Chemical tests are known to produce inaccurate results, which is why a Kenansville attorney should be an active member of your case. Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer will result in an immediate license suspension and charge of a DWI.

For more useful information about DWI, please view our DWI brochure!

Levels of Sentencing

Since December 1, 2011, North Carolina laws have classified DWI sentences into six levels. Level 5 is the least severe, which can result in between 24 hours and 60 days in jail, an immediate license suspension, and up to a $200 fine. Level 1 was previously the most severe DWI offense, which can result in a $4,000 fine, a license suspension for 30 days, and between 30 days and 24 months in jail. With the addition of a sixth level, Aggravated Level 1, sentences have become more severe. For an Aggravated Level 1 DWI offense, you can be penalized with a fine of up to $10,000, between 12 and 36 months in jail, and monitored for abstaining from alcohol for 4 months after being released. For all the above sentences, a substance abuse assessment and compliance with any recommended treatment is also required.

Additional Alcohol crimes

Commercial drivers will likely face increased DWI penalties than drivers with regular driver licenses. Underage drivers will lose their license for 30 days before trial and then another year after the trial. Drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with any amount of alcohol within their system. DWI can also refer to individuals who are driving while under the influence of drugs. When found driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, your penalties will be increased. If you have been charged with DWI, keep in mind the penalties associated with the hidden costs of DWI. You will be required to pay court fees and license reinstatement fees that you may not initially contribute to DWI. At Hunter & Price, P.A., we can help you gain a better understanding of your case. Contact us today!

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Attorney Web Design
Hunter & Price, P.A. - Duplin County Attorney
Located at 211 South Main St. Kenansville, NC 28349. View Map
Phone: (888) 721-2338 | Local Phone: (910) 863-1370| Alt. Phone (910) 296-9838
Website:

© 2013 All Rights Reserved.
Quick Information Center

Memberships:

Our Office:

211 S Main St
Kenansville, NC 28349