Contact Our Firm

Video Vault

Duplin County Assault Attorney

Criminal Defense Firm Serving Duplin County, NC

Various types of assault exist under North Carolina law which can result in a misdemeanor or a felony charge, depending on the circumstances. If you've been arrested for assault in Duplin County, your first priority should be to seek competent legal counsel. At Hunter & Price, P.A. you will find an attorney team dedicated to helping those who have been accused of criminal offenses throughout our county.

Our attorneys have experience in handling these types of charges in the local courts. Included in our team is a Duplin County assault lawyer who has been listed as a Rising Star by Super Lawyers, a distinction that gives our firm further credibility as to its effectiveness.

Don't Wait to Get Help

Act Immediately! Schedule a FREE consultation today!

What are the penalties for my assault charges?

Assault may consist of the threat to use force against another which places that person in fear of imminent danger. It may also consist of the actual use of force which may lead to physical injury. North Carolina law also includes the Class 2 misdemeanor of affray, which consists of a fight between two or more individuals in a public place which causes fear in other people.

Simple assault or assaults which result in minor injury are generally charged as Class 2 misdemeanors. These are punishable by probation and jail time of up to 30 days for those who have no prior convictions. Anyone with a prior conviction may face up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

Other more serious types of assault will result in harsher penalties. These include instances where serious injury has occurred, where a deadly weapon has been used, in cases of domestic violence or sexual battery, offenses against women or children under the age of 12, assault against state employees, public transportation operators, or private security officers when on duty, or sports officials also while acting in their official capacity. These types of assault may result in a Class 1 misdemeanor charge resulting in probation, jail time, or a fine set by the court.

Work with an Experienced Duplin County Criminal Defense Lawyer

In the face of assault charges, you should rely on a legal professional for competent guidance and support when confronting the criminal justice system. Our firm has the legal skills and personalized attention you need at this difficult time. Contact us for a free case consultation to learn more about the laws and procedures that will impact your case.

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Attorney Web Design
Hunter & Price, P.A. - Duplin County Attorney
Located at 211 South Main St. Kenansville, NC 28349. View Map
Phone: (888) 721-2338 | Local Phone: (910) 863-1370| Alt. Phone (910) 296-9838
Website:

© 2013 All Rights Reserved.
Quick Information Center

Memberships:

Our Office:

211 S Main St
Kenansville, NC 28349